top of page

International Housing Insecurity During COVID19

As an international student, I planned to go back home for the entire summer period, both to see my family and spend time in the archives. I already had purchased round trip tickets, but COVID-19 has completely changed the situation, especially because the borders of my country are closed and doesn’t seem to be opening anytime soon. Right now, it seems I will be unable to go back home during the summer. In the midst of this global pandemic, my main source of stress is not my own health or that of my loved ones, not the painful possibility of not seeing my family for more than a year, but basically not being able to make ends meet if I stay here during the summer. My housing contract expires mid-June, because I originally planned to be home by then. University housing is reluctant to give us the option of extending our contracts until next fall, which basically means I could find myself without housing during a pandemic.

University housing is reluctant to give us the option of extending our contracts until next fall, which basically means I could find myself without housing during a pandemic.

Even if I am able to secure housing until next fall, without a rent freeze, a summer job, or a summer stipend, it will be impossible for me to pay rent and sustain my basic needs. This pandemic is causing enough uncertainty and stress, securing our basic needs as graduate students should not be one of them.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Research Woes

The COVID pandemic has dramatically changed my plans for this summer and impeded my research

Comments


bottom of page