top of page

Better Affordability Abroad

For my first year and part of my second year I lived in a studio, which was actually jSummers in grad school are already difficult without a pandemic. Last summer, I hustled to cobble together small sources of funding to cover my expenses including an editorial internship, coaching a swim team, and grants from academic centers. I decided to spend most of my summer doing research abroad since it was cheaper to fly half way across the world and conduct my work there than to support myself in Santa Barbara with the high cost of living.


I decided to spend most of my summer doing research abroad since it was cheaper to fly half way across the world and conduct my work there than to support myself in Santa Barbara with the high cost of living.

This summer all of those opportunities have dried up and I am currently without a source of income for the summer months. Although I received my once-during-the-program research travel fund from the History Department which I would like to save for my research, I am now faced with the real possibility of choosing between paying my rent and future research.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Research Woes

The COVID pandemic has dramatically changed my plans for this summer and impeded my research

Comments


bottom of page