top of page

Sleepless in Student Debt


I make $2,200 a month as a TA, and I pay $1,002 dollars of it a month for rent. I have a car payment which is $380 a month, which I need to reach my mom, whose health is failing, and my research, where I visit archives sprinkled all over the US West. With a car comes insurance, which is an additional $120 a month and AAA, $12 a month. I had to buy a new car when it broke down 700 miles away from UCSB last summer and it cost me an extra two nights of hotels and $600 (that I did not have at the time) to fix. During the same trip, my laptop died, and I had to buy a new one in another state. I am still paying off my credit card for that, as well, which is $200 a month with previous expenses. I have to pay for my phone and its service, which is $75 a month. Even with our health insurance, I spend $120 a month on therapy to help me with my Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. I spend $10 a month on my medication. I go to the campus food banks often to get essentials, like rice, grains, sauces, and some vegetables, but it is not enough to give me all that I need. I spend about $150 a month on groceries.

STIPEND: $2,200

Rent: $1,002

Car Payment: $380

Car Insurance: $120

AAA: $12

Credit Card Payment: $200

Phone Bill: $75

Therapy: $120

Medication: $10

Food: $150

Gas: $100

TOTAL: $2,169

I used to have an extra job off-campus to support myself, but I was encouraged by faculty to only work at UCSB in order to have more time to focus on my research. Now, I worry about being evicted, which almost happened a few weeks ago when a late stipend led to late rent. I want to help take care of my mom and stepdad, who only make a few hundred more dollars a month than I do--they are proud that I am the first in my family to go to college--but I am barely afloat. My friends, who are just as precarious as I am, are my safety net. I have no one else.


Now, I worry about being evicted, which almost happened a few weeks ago when a late stipend led to late rent.

I have $40,000 in student loans, working towards a degree that is the reason I get up in the morning, but the finances surrounding it are the reason I cannot fall asleep at night. I am so grateful to be a graduate student at UCSB; I just want to be able to afford to be one who can eat, sleep, teach, and research, which are all why I am here in the first place.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Emergency (Un)Preparedness

Many of my immediate problems would be solved with having an income that’s relative to the high cost of living in Santa Barbara.

Victim of IV Slumlords

When I got accepted to UCSB and started looking at the cost of rentals in Goleta and Santa Barbara, I was completely shocked.

Comentarios


bottom of page