top of page

Politics of Empathy


I have friends who are considering leaving graduate school. I have friends who would have to leave the country if they withdraw from classes.


COLA matters to me because I currently have to work an additional job off campus, which takes me away from my coursework, research, and grading responsibilities. Even so, I had to borrow money from my mother to make rent once so far this school year. My mother is a retired public school teacher on a fixed income. But beyond even that, COLA matters to me because I have friends in much more precarious positions than I am. I have friends who support family dependants, who have sick children, who are homeless. I have friends who are considering leaving graduate school. I have friends who would have to leave the country if they withdraw from classes. My politics are rooted in empathy, and while I could make a version of a life that is functionally feasible, that’s just me. There are people much worse off than me who deserve a better quality of life.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Emergency (Un)Preparedness

Many of my immediate problems would be solved with having an income that’s relative to the high cost of living in Santa Barbara.

Victim of IV Slumlords

When I got accepted to UCSB and started looking at the cost of rentals in Goleta and Santa Barbara, I was completely shocked.

Comments


bottom of page