top of page

COLA = Better Research


I live in subsidized university housing, and my rent burden is 43%. I have no loans to pay off, and no one is financially dependent on me. Even then, my financial situation is precarious. I visit my partner, who is also a graduate student, twice a month. I save whatever I can to be able to afford going home to my family once a year or in case of any emergency. I also put aside money for the 3 months in summer in which I am not paid. With what is left, my ability to attend conferences even within California depends on external grants and fellowships. The same goes for any archival work or fieldwork I hope to conduct during my years in the program.


Given the stipulations attached to my student visa, I am not allowed to take up a second job to supplement my income. I will have to compromise either on visits to my family, or my partner, or food.

If I have to move out of graduate housing (which guarantees housing for two years), my rent burden will increase to at least 60%. Given the stipulations attached to my student visa, I am not allowed to take up a second job to supplement my income. I will have to compromise either on visits to my family, or my partner, or food.


For me, a COLA means less financial stress, and therefore, better research.


Paycheck (paid 9 months in a year) $2150

Rent per month $900

Groceries $150-200

Visits to partner $100-120

Airfare to travel home $2500

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Emergency (Un)Preparedness

Many of my immediate problems would be solved with having an income that’s relative to the high cost of living in Santa Barbara.

Victim of IV Slumlords

When I got accepted to UCSB and started looking at the cost of rentals in Goleta and Santa Barbara, I was completely shocked.

Comments


bottom of page